High School Teachers, what do you do on the first day?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by ACardAttack, Jul 1, 2010.

1. ACardAttack

ACardAttack Companion

Jul 1, 2010

Just kind of curious to what other high school teachers do their first day of school. I'm going to be teaching mostly juniors and seniors, so I dont think many icebreakers will really be needed for the students. So since this is my first time teaching, I'm trying to get an idea of what others do. I do plan on asking my principal and other teachers at my school for suggestions and what is expected, and at the moment I dont have access to my books yet.

I would imagine, introduce myself, talk about the syllabus, my expectations, all that good jazz; but what else? An easy and fun activity that may or may not directly be relevant to what they will learn, just something to get the rust off the brains and then hit he ground running on the second day?

Any suggestions would be much obliged.

3. JustMe

JustMe Virtuoso

Jul 1, 2010

I know many teachers will say hello and jump immediately into their first lesson. You may or may not want to do that, and you may or may not be able to. Some schools, even high schools, have an interesting first day schedule. I'd first speak to the principal or at least someone already teaching there to ask if the schedule is normal and go from there. If it is, I'd introduce myself, quickly go over expectations and syllabus like you said. And I'd have this all on paper for them as well...it's a lot to take it in. I like the idea of a "get the rust off the brains" activity because I would never do a legitimate lesson the first day because there are so many changes from the first to second day. We always have new kids the second day, in extreme cases students are moved because their parents find out Bully Billy is in the room...it's just a messy day.

4. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Jul 1, 2010

I knew there was a recent thread like this :)