High School Teacher: Should I Relocate?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by Wisconsin Mark, May 11, 2009.

1. Wisconsin Mark

Wisconsin Mark Rookie

May 11, 2009

I would be very interested in opinions on my situation, so let me lay out the facts.
    (1) I teach high school English (and can also teach history/social studies, but would pursue that certification later). I hold a Master of Arts in Teaching from Boston University in English Education, jointly awarded by the School of Education and the Department of English; my GPA was 3.91. My Bachelor of Arts is from Yale University in American Studies; my GPA there was 3.65.
    (2) I have been working in corporate education here in Wisconsin for several years at good pay, but got laid off (with good severance) in January. Because of the severance, I have not started to draw down my unemployment benefit yet, but I am registered; I will start to use that benefit in July. I get the maximum Wisconsin benefit ($388.00/week). The unemployment benefit is portable, so I can still draw my payments if I relocate to another state to seek work.
    (3) My letters of recommendation and references are very good. I scored a perfect 200 on the Praxis II in English Language, Literature, and Composition/Content Knowledge. I’ve got some nice honors and recognitions on my resume.
    (4) Teaching hiring is at a standstill here in Wisconsin. It’s not just the economy; school-age populations are dropping, as they are throughout the upper Midwest. Districts are laying off teachers in sizable numbers.
    (5) I am an experienced substitute teacher and like subbing. Substitute teaching pays surprisingly well in Wisconsin, but for that very reason, it is a closed shop. Retired teachers are the only ones who ever get calls. (Compare that to New Jersey in the Nineties, when I was starting out; my phone rang off the hook every single day.)