High School students: sign to be quiet and focus?

Discussion in 'Behavior Management Archives' started by wolfster, Sep 18, 2005.

1. wolfster

wolfster Rookie

Sep 18, 2005

Hi,

I am teaching high school students (9th graders) and this is my first year.

Anyway, I was wondering for those of you who work with similarly aged students, does anyone use a sign (physical or a word) to get your students to - cease talking, pay attention, and focus? Since these are older students, I don't want to use something that appears very juvenile (i.e., turning off the lights or clapping, which would be wonderful for younger students).

Personality wise I am a bit on the quiet side, so I don't want to resort that something that is not me (i.e., yelling or getting angry).

All suggestions are welcome. Thanks

3. katerina03

katerina03 Devotee

Sep 24, 2005

I am just subbing right now, but I have seen teachers in the high school clap to get student attention and one says "OK listen up". I am anxious to here suggestions from others because I may teach 9th grade someday.

4. melissa180

melissa180 New Member

Sep 28, 2005

I just tell them focus time

I let them quitely talk while I am recording attendance for the day. After that, I say it is "focus time". That means that they are now on my time. If they talk during my time, I hold them during "their time" (after the bell rings). It took about a week to have them get the hang of it, but after a few days of kids staying after the bell for 30-90 seconds, they learned to be quited during class.

5. CanadianTeacher

CanadianTeacher Groupie

Sep 29, 2005

What is is about intermediate level students - they can't seem to figure out how to w-h-i-s-p-e-r.....!

6. dehabel

dehabel Rookie

Oct 2, 2005

I say "Hello" or "hi" and generally the few who hear me say it back to me and then they all know to stop and listen to what I am saying. I wish it lasted though :eek:)

7. sdhudgins

sdhudgins Comrade

Oct 2, 2005