High School MOID/SID/PID

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by teacher1219, Aug 4, 2013.

1. teacher1219

teacher1219 New Member

Aug 4, 2013

I need advice. I need encouragement. I am about to begin my second year of teaching (on Tuesday). Last year, I co-taught in elementary inclusion classes (Kindergarten, 2nd and 3rd grade). This year, I've been transferred to a high school MOID/SID/PID class and I am scared to death!!! I'm getting depressed. My degree isn't even in special education; it's in early childhood education. I am kind of thankful that I got certified in special education, because I would not have a job otherwise. But now, I'm learning that once one enters the field of special education, it's nearly impossible to escape. I felt comfortable in elementary school, but now...I feel like I'm in way over my head. This is definitely going to be my hardest year yet, and I'm afraid I'm not going to survive it. Please help!

3. bella84

bella84 Aficionado

Aug 4, 2013

Ask for a mentor. Someone who will be teaching something similar to you. Then get to know them right away.

4. anewstart101

anewstart101 Cohort

Aug 4, 2013

Three years ago I went from elementary to high school (severe agressive autism class). I was scared can I do it. I always saw myself as an elementary teacher I had absolutely no desire to teach high school. I needed to clear my credential and I was grateful to have a job even if I wasn't sure what I was getting into. Plus I drove 150 miles round trip to this job.

While I was thrown into the frying pan literally and it was challenging. It has been the best experience I have had. I enjoy high school. I like high school and helping kids transition from high school to what is next.

I wouldn't change it for the world now. I got a job closer to home after 3 years and I am grateful.

Now this year I am going from moderate to severe class autism to a mild to moderate autism class. It will be interesting.

I am open to this experience. . .