High School Language Arts 9th grade

Discussion in 'High School' started by Cme10, Oct 13, 2013.

1. Cme10

Cme10 Rookie

Oct 13, 2013

Hello!

I am a new teacher here as some may have noticed. I teach in a more poverty area and I really want to give my students a chance despite financial hardships and show them they can really go somewhere. Athletics are pushed very hard but I would like them to see they can go somewhere academically as well.

So here I am. I started on Wednesday and because it is pertinent let me explain how things are.

I have no access to electronic grade book/Discipline system, nothing.

I have literature books. (I borrowed four from another teacher to TRY to get by)

Out of four English I class only one has given me grades for the students.

I have a block Read 180 class, but I have no computers, no 180 book library and no teacher edition physical or otherwise.

I also do not have a copy code or access to any other area that would productive.

I have email.

I have an ESE student who cannot write and barely read. I was told to "grade on their ability..." How can I if I can't have any proof OF ability?

Lastly this week coming up the district has made it so my students have to make an outline, pre-write, rough draft and final draft from Monday to Thursday.

These students don't even know proper grammar/spelling/capitalization.

On Friday when this nightmare from the district is over I intend to go over some grammar with them to refresh them of where they should be. Then the 2nd nine weeks starts.

I have decided I would like to offer them extra credit (because some of the students are coming from teachers who have only given them FIVE grades) but I need ideas. I would like to offer three categories of extra credit. Perhaps for one point, do an extra journal entry. I need a writing/English assignment that would be worth of three points, finally one equaling five points will be to write me an essay...(But I need a prompt for the essay).