High School Interviews

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by Chris Render, Apr 25, 2018.

1. Chris Render

Chris Render Rookie

Apr 25, 2018

I am new to education. I have gone on several interviews. Do you usually get an offer at the end of the interview if the principal is interested in you?

I have been told we will let you know one way or another. Then you never hear from them. I have also been told we hope to make a decision at the next board meeting. Is that code for we are not hiring you? What is the deal with education? Just tell me up front at the end of the interview or next day you are not what we are looking for.

futuremathsprof and Leaborb192 like this.
  3. Leaborb192

Leaborb192 Enthusiast

Apr 25, 2018

Last edited: Feb 4, 2019
  4. Chris Render

Chris Render Rookie

Apr 25, 2018

I teach Business and I like to focus on teaching Computer classes. In this area, they seem to care more about sports than education. Of course, they will all tell you they care about education but they will hire a horrible teacher just because they are a coach.

5. Always__Learning

Always__Learning Comrade

Apr 25, 2018

Where I live no one is ever offered a job in the interview. There is a process that is followed and typically candidates are contacted within a few days. The timeline is no different for those offered a position and those not offered a position.

6. Chris Render

Chris Render Rookie

Apr 25, 2018

Thank you, it seems to be a lot different than the private sector. Most of the time in the private sector you will get a rejection e-mail fairly quickly or an offer fairly quickly. My experience with interviewing for education seems they don't want to respond to you if they do not want to make an offer.

7. Been There

Been There Habitué

Apr 25, 2018