Hi I'm new and could use some help!

Discussion in 'Early Childhood Education Archives' started by Starting_Over, Jan 10, 2006.

1. Starting_Over

Starting_Over Rookie

Jan 10, 2006

Hi everyone,

I sure hope I'm posting this is the right place. I just joined today, and I can't believe I'm just now finding this wonderful resource! :) This is my situation...hopefully someone can relate and I appreciate any advice.

First of all, I'm planning on moving to Georgia very soon. Right now, I'm trying to figure out the best way to go about teaching Kindergarten. See, I majored in Secondary Education in college, back in 2000. To this day, I'm not sure why I chose Secondary, because I've always had more of a raport with younger children. Then, I went to Graduate school for Guidance Counseling, (my parents suggestion) and I didn'r realize that it wasn't for me until my final internship :( Ever since that time, I've been lost. I tried to teach middle school, and I was miserable. (Because of a lot of factors). I've always felt that I would be a much better Kindergarten or 1st grade teacher. I do have experience working with this age group. I used to be in charge of an after school care program. I loved every minute of it.

I guess my problem is, I'm not sure how to go about making this change. Having majored in Secondary Ed. I feel like I'm in this box that I can't get out of. Not only that, having a license in another state, its been really difficult for me to find any information about licensing for Kindergarten or 1st grade in Georgia. I have visited the GAPSC and GaDOE websites, but the only thing I can come up with is I would have to go back to school to receive a 4 year degree in ECE.

Does anyone know of a shorter route for Certification in Kindergarten? I'm willing to try anything. If you could point me in the direction of some resources, websites, or just give me some advice, I would be so grateful!

Thanks everyone! And I'm so happy to be here!:thanks: