Hey Everyone! Need some advice please :)

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Harmony2, Aug 12, 2013.

1. Harmony2

Harmony2 Companion

Aug 12, 2013

Well, it feels like ages since I have been on.. but....

I am now a licensed NJ teacher! Now comes the fun part, finding a permanent position.:unsure:

I finished my placement March 15, and started working as a long term sub for a maternity leave in May that was supposed to go until October. I was also fortunate to work that district's summer program.

I got word last week that the teacher out on maternity is coming back sooner because of finances. :( So.. there goes that. I asked about other positions, and there is nothing, even though this is a high needs district in NJ. I was told they will keep me as a permanent sub, though.

I also teach an enrichment class after school 5 days a week and that I will remain doing this coming year.

Since I just found this out, I have been scrambling to find something else; with two kids in college I really can't do much down time.

There were fortunately a few positions posted, and I interviewed and received two position offers today. They are :

As a Para at a very good autism school, with the P telling me he sees me teaching within a year. Full benefits, and state teachers pension. Starting salary? 16,500. :eek: This with my BA/MA in Ed. Still, I am hoping to teach students with Autism, so this will be a great experience.

Second offer, long term sub, Sept. to Feb. severely handicapped classroom in another high needs district, 1 hour commute.

Third option: I am part of Source4Teachers. I can sub as often as I want to, but will likely not be in the same districts or schools every day unless I get a long term sub position.

I have a few other resumes pending in a couple more high needs district, but haven't heard anything yet.