HELP!!!

Discussion in 'New Teachers' started by mommyre, Sep 5, 2009.

1. mommyre

mommyre Comrade

Sep 5, 2009

I am really frustrated and I will try to give all the information that I can. We got a new principal this year and a week into school she puts me on an action plan.

I know that the areas she identified are areas I need help with but I feel an action plan was a bit much without warning. The first area I fixed on my own, she wanted more detail in my lesson plans, I did not need an action plan to fix that, all she had to do was ask.

Second is the area I have the most trouble with and really need help. I am a second year teacher, and do not trust my new mentor, more on that in a minute. I have trouble with classroom management, especially time management. I do tend to be long winded, and easily distracted.My students are not listening and talk entirely too much, despite the fact I make them turn their cards, etc. I am in no way leinient but am feeling very flustered. Any suggestions would be nice.

The issue with my mentor stems from whom she is friends with. My neighbor teacher (and grade level team member) is quite the joiner and tells me she has joined this group or that one as the grade level rep. She says that I really don't have time to worry about them. Isn't that my choice. She and I had words before school started and now I am seeing that she is principal's pet.

The principal gives out "stars" and my mentor and her friend have each gotten one. Many people on staff were hoping that since we got a new principal the clique would go away, but it seems to be growing. If you are not a member of this clique you get dumped on and hard.

I cannot go to a person that I know will talk to her buddy about me and my issues. I want to quit my job!

Any suggestions.

3. newbie23

newbie23 Comrade

Sep 5, 2009

mommyre,