HELP!

Discussion in 'First Grade' started by ladycajun1105, Aug 8, 2008.

1. ladycajun1105

ladycajun1105 Rookie

Aug 8, 2008

This is my first year teaching I have not done student teaching, I am alternative certification.

Well today was my first day with the students. I feel that is went okay. There were sometimes that the class seemed to not respond to me, but I seem to get a few back on track and continued on with my review of the rules.

There is this one child that can get four others off task and then it seems like the whole class is not paying attention because I am trying to give hime to listen to me. ALl he does is talk, talk, talk. I tried putting him all by himself, he gets up, I had him face the wall and talk to that. I even had him look at himself in the mirror. He will behave, then once he gets back to the class setting; all hell breaks loose again.

I know part of the issue was that I did not have a clear control of the schedule so I was a little lost for a minute or two and when they saw this they ran with it. We also did not have a recess, so the children were so frustrated.

I know that I need to plan for everything, but I just need some help on getting this one child on task.

Please help.

3. love_reading

love_reading Comrade

Aug 8, 2008

Just wondering why you didn't have a recess for first graders?? They really REALLY need that time to run off energy and unwind from being in the classroom. Remember that they have been off all summer, probably with not much structure, and they just recently finished kindergarten. Look for their attention span to last about 10 minutes on average. Also, I have found that a good part of the year they sort of lose focus by midafternoon.

4. trayums

trayums Enthusiast

Aug 8, 2008