HELP!!

Discussion in 'Kindergarten' started by Rolan77, Oct 2, 2010.

1. Rolan77

Rolan77 Rookie

Oct 2, 2010

I am so overwhelmed with all the information that I have found on the internet that I'm hoping some of you can help me condense it all.
    This is my first year teaching K and I'm still trying to work out all the scheduling issues. My team isn't much help to me either so I'm looking to you all!
    1. How much time do you have for Centers each day?
    2. While the students are at centers, do you take groups?
    3. What are you doing with each group and how long are you working with them? And do you teach "new" skills in small groups or just reinforce?
    4. What do you do in a whole group? and what is taught in whole group as opposed to small?
    5. Do you follow a specific reading curriculum/series? and do you "really" follow it?
    Any help you can give me would be very helpful. I feel like I'm so overwhelmed! Thank you to anyone to helps me out!

3. mopar

mopar Multitudinous

Oct 2, 2010

When I taught K, I didn't really do centers as most say. I had my students working independently at stations. I had an independent reading stations (mostly book walks), library station (when I could send them to the library...), computer station (mostly for phonics), listening station, phonics station, and writing station.
    I would spend about 15-20 minutes at a station and would do anywhere from 3-5 stations a day (depending on the day), but not back to back.
    I did meet with small groups to work on specific skills. I might have a group working on something new if they were ready or other groups working on re-teaching if needed. Depended on the students.