Help!

Discussion in 'Kindergarten' started by zoey'smom, Aug 21, 2010.

1. zoey'smom

zoey'smom Cohort

Aug 21, 2010

Help! I need advice. I have been teaching for 13 years now. I will continue to teach kindergarten, but I will also teach preschool. I will have the kindergarten class in the morning and another teacher will have the same group in the afternoon. I had a lot of my things set for the year. I was going to use my behavior system, my BEE folders, and other things that have worked for me year after year. Well they hired a brand new teacher. I was out all week with a kidney stone and just went back yesterday. School will start next week.

Here is the problem. I have my ideas what I want to do with this class and she has her ideas. I know I have to compromise but I feel like I am compromising on everything and also making more work for me. She wants to have her own folders and behavior system. I do just a teachers helper and she wants a job for everyone. For this to work we need to be on the same page. She is very nice, but she seems to want to do it her way. She also got rid of all plaything like the kitchen, and toys.

I know part of the problem is me. I am use to being the only kindergarten teacher. I am also not feeling very well at this time.
    Any ideas on how to handle this? I want to start the year off right.

3. Maxadoodle

Maxadoodle Comrade

Aug 21, 2010

IMO, SHE is the new teacher and should follow YOUR lead for the year. I would never walk in as the newbie and change what has worked for 13 years. She may be nice, but she is stepping on your toes...especially getting rid of your kitchen and toys.

4. halpey1

halpey1 Groupie

Aug 21, 2010