Help with subbing in fifth grade

Discussion in 'Substitute Teachers' started by cali*teacher, Apr 26, 2012.

1. cali*teacher

cali*teacher Companion

Apr 26, 2012

Hello, it's been awhile since I've been on these forums. Currently I work as an elementary grade substitute teacher, because I'm best suited to work with elementary age children I feel. Fifth grade is kind of pushing it for me even. I always have a wonderful day, or usually do, when it's fourth grade to kindergarten, but when it's fifth grade it's a whole different ballgame. Can you seasoned teachers tell me how to best handle fifth graders? What are some good filler activities to do with them if there is a time gap or time left over? I just don't seem to have the personality type to get good class control at this grade level and beyond (I wouldn't even attempt sixth and up, no way, lol) I get calls for fifth grade, and don't want to turn the opportunity to work down, but I can generally look forward to feeling overwhelmed by the end of the day. I've been subbing for a year and a half, lots of difficult classrooms and grade levels. Fifth grade is definitely the most different grade level for me in terms of classroom management. I love the students, but they are just at that developmental age where it's harder. Any pointers? :unsure:

3. AlwaysAttend

AlwaysAttend Fanatic

Apr 27, 2012

You could always bring a small soft ball for them to toss around. Silent Ball: students sit on their desks and each student points to a neighbor and throws the ball to them underhanded. If they drop the ball, forget to point, talk, etc they are eliminated. Game ends when one student is left.

4. SetterHugger85

SetterHugger85 Rookie

May 3, 2012

I am not a seasoned teacher, but fifth grade classes were the first ones I got called for subbing and I had some tricks that worked and teachers loved how I did! Let me tell you what I did and you can take it or leave it :)