Help with Spanish speaking student!

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by iowateacher2007, Aug 28, 2007.

1. iowateacher2007

iowateacher2007 New Member

Aug 28, 2007

I have a student in my class (3rd grade) who just moved from Mexico and speaks only Spanish. We have a computer program that he can do to start learning English, but he gets bored with that easily. Our ESL teachers are only with him for about 1 hour total so he's in my room the rest of the day. Does anyone know of any worksheets or printables that I can give to him to help him learn English (and keep him busy when I'm doing some other things with the class)?

I would appreciate any links to websites or anything really! Thank you!

3. alielizadubois

alielizadubois Companion

Sep 1, 2007

I would recommend going to the ESL teachers and asking for resources.

I am an ESL teacher in my building, and the following information is a summary of what I have provided for my teachers.

I have a lot of ideas (Im an ESL teacher for grades 3-5 in NYC)... I just put together a resource packet for teachers in my school on working with newcomer ELLs (English Language Learners).
    I wouldn't worry too too much about using material that is not age appropriate,young elementary students are still young enough to appreciate that kind of stuff to a degree.