Help with Social Studies and Science

Discussion in 'First Grade' started by NC1stGradeTeach, Sep 20, 2009.

1. NC1stGradeTeach

NC1stGradeTeach Rookie

Sep 20, 2009

This is my first year teaching in a first grade classroom. I would love ideas from other first grade teachers on how you teach social studies and science. Any tips and advice would be greatly appreicated!!!

3. CandyKisses

CandyKisses Rookie

Sep 20, 2009

Social Studies

Children learn more about families and how they live and work, in the United States and elsewhere; explore aspects of the economy such as jobs, transportation, stores and shops, income, spending, and saving; study the different cultures in their region; begin to learn the concepts of city, state, and nation; practice democratic processes such as making rules and decisions; learn inquiry skills such as becoming aware of a problem, knowing how to gain info, being able to organize and analyze information, and finding solutions.

They advance their study of geography by learning the four main directions and using maps. They learn how children lived in other times.

Science

Exploration of the natural world continues to be an important area of study. Children learn to focus their inquiries without a subject. The investigation of insects involve examining their characteristics, observing their activities, learning to recognize different variations, and noting differences and similarities; another common and fully engaging activity is following the stages of a butterfly's development. Another focus of investigation is the weather, including the seasons, cloud structures, the sun and the moon, and temperature. The study of magnets allows students to develop techniques of experimentation.

4. Emma35

Emma35 Connoisseur

Sep 21, 2009

Check and see what your state standards are. Every state is different then plan lessons according to that.

5. Lynnnn725

Lynnnn725 Connoisseur

Sep 21, 2009