help with resume, pleassseee

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by 4815162342, Jun 2, 2015.

1. 4815162342

4815162342 Companion

Jun 2, 2015

Okay, background info:
    For the past year I was a kindergarten teacher at a charter school. It was my first teaching job. I really liked it and planned on continuing another year, but I wasn't given a contract (even though we didn't do actual contracts because it was an "at will" school) because I did not pass my ESL certification in time. It was required at that school for all ELA teachers to have the certification.
    So that was a bummer, but maybe a blessing in disguise because I was driving 3 hours a day round trip to that school and that is a little crazy.
    Anyhoo, I am applying like a mad woman to jobs available in my area, but so far no calls or emails. I think the fact that I have a blegh resume is not helping me. So ideas/comments/advice?

Heather *****
    ADDRESS HERE
    123-456-7890 email here

Objective
    Seeking teaching position in which I can offer high dedication to student development and relevant educational needs.

Certification
    Generalist EC-6 Probationary Certificate valid until August 2015, Standard Certificate anticipated August 2015
    Web-Centric Alternative Certification Program- currently enrolled.
    TExES Content Exams Passed: Generalist EC-6, on 9/20/2013.

Education
    University Of Houston – Downtown- Houston, Texas
    Bachelor of Science Major in Interdisciplinary Studies Candidate- May 2013
    Lone Star College System- The Woodlands, Texas
    Completed coursework towards Associates of Arts, December 2011
    70 credit hours completed.

Work Experience
    School Name here Houston, Texas United States
    Kindergarten Teacher August 2014 – May 2015
    • Plan, evaluate, and assign lessons using Microsoft Word and Excel, Google Docs, and Eduphoria.
    • Introduce children to mathematics, language, science, and social studies.