Help with Reading

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by 1stGradeRocks, Jan 11, 2013.

1. 1stGradeRocks

1stGradeRocks Comrade

Jan 11, 2013

This is my first year teaching 1st grade after 6 years in K. I am starting to get frustrated when I do running records. I did 2 today, and after I finished I went back and pointed out words that the students read incorrectly. Both of the students immediately read all of the words that they had miscues on correctly when I just pointed and said "What is that word?" Of course I did not change the running record, but what can I do to help students self correct their own errors as they are reading or read the words correctly the first time when they are obviously capable of decoding them? I feel like 1/2 of my class is "below grade level" in reading, and I am getting discouraged. Any advice is greatly appreciated.

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Jan 11, 2013

Wrk on decoding strategies and monitoring for meaning with these kds.

4. 1stGradeRocks

1stGradeRocks Comrade

Jan 11, 2013

Yes, I am working on those things daily. They can decode the words though so I'm a little stumped. Also, most of their miscues as they were reading still "made sense" for example, window for windows, etc. Thanks for responding.

5. pwhatley

pwhatley Maven

Jan 11, 2013

I have two groups of kids in my classroom. With my readers, I'm really stressing reading accuracy (I call it careful reading). Often, they will get in a hurry while reading, and just substitute similar words while reading aloud. Then there are my (3) nonreaders.... heavy sigh.

6. mopar

mopar Multitudinous

Jan 11, 2013