Help With Language Arts!

Discussion in 'Sixth Grade' started by LA/FLnewbie, Oct 21, 2007.

1. LA/FLnewbie

LA/FLnewbie Companion

Oct 21, 2007

Hello everyone,

I am in my first year teaching 6th grade and 8th grade Language Arts. I student taught in a high school so I expected the transition to middle school to be rough...well, the 8th graders are doing fine, but I REALLY struggle with the 6th graders. Classroom management and behavior is a major issue...talking, fidgeting, singing and other distractions are making the class an uphill battle for me. The thing is, I think it is because I'm not structuring the lessons well for these younger kids! They write in a workshop twice a week, and those tend to be the best days because kids can move around and work at their own pace. But I just don't know what to DO to make reading, vocabulary, and grammar lessons work out for them...Can anyone give me good suggestions of things to try? Before I go INSANE?!?! :)

Thank you !!!

3. Budaka

Budaka Cohort

Oct 21, 2007

Join the crowd! My seventh graders will be the death of me. My eighth graders are fine, but the seventh graders are coming from elementary and are having lots of problems.
    There are thirty of them and they are very talkative. I have tried many different things. Most things will work for a few days.
    I try to establish a routine where they have a chance to be quiet (mine are highly competitive and do not work well with other students). They really like to read out loud. They also like to take notes if I give them a note sheet with blanks they have to fill in.
    We (the middle school teachers) also give them sentences to write (ten at a time) like " I am writing this sentence to remind myself that I need to be quiet and focused on my work in order to have success in this classroom."