Help with Classroom Management!!

Discussion in 'Behavior Management' started by PinkFish, Oct 5, 2008.

1. PinkFish

PinkFish Rookie

Oct 5, 2008

I am a first year teacher and am really struggling with my classroom management. I teach second grade and have tried a few different methods and am finding that nothing is working. I teach two pretty rough groups of kids. I started off just carrying around a clip board and taking marks of their conduct sheets that go home each friday. That didn't work so I switched to a color coded chart with clothes pins and that did not work. I now use a system where they get one warning, then they lose a priviledge, and then they fill out a behavior contract to go home. None of these seem to work and my class is always talking when I teach and I am ready to throw in the towel..

3. RainStorm

RainStorm Aficionado

Oct 5, 2008

Finding a classroom management system that works for you and for your students is always difficult.

Sending a conduct sheet home on Friday is too late. The consequences have to be immediate in order to modify a child's behavior. It isn't terribly effective.

I also teach 2nd grade, so I'm going to tell you what I do, and you can see if any of it might work for you.

First, if they are talking and you are ready to teach, I look around and find someone who is doing the right thing. There is always at least one -- sometimes many. In a very loud, cheeful voice, I exclaim, "Lulu! I love the way you are ready to learn!" Then Betty will stop talking and look at me, and I notice her too. "Betty and Mary and Billy, I see you are ready, too. Great! I'm so proud!" You'll get most of them at that point. If there are one or two who still continue, I say "Eddy, aren't you going to do the right thing? We're waiting. We all want to learn. I know you want to learn too!" (Look for the ring leaders, and call them out on it. Keep a pleasant voice, but let them know you are aware they are making a poor choice.)