Help with Book Ideas

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by MrsCheerio, Oct 18, 2011.

1. MrsCheerio

MrsCheerio Rookie

Oct 18, 2011

Hi all- I'm new to teaching 3's and have a pretty typical, super squirmy bunch. I'm having a hard time getting through an entire book without a whole lot of interruptions. I need some help with a list of super interactive books that will hold their attention and get them involved in the story. Any of you seasoned pro's have some suggestions for me??? thx!

3. christine89

christine89 Companion

Oct 18, 2011

I think part of the key is to not only have the books be interactive, but short and sweet. I guess when I think of engaging but still short books are ones by Eric Carle (Very Hungry Caterpillar, Brown Bear). Anything with some repetition can be good too because after they catch on to the repeating phrase then they will be engaged enough to join in with you when it comes up in the book. Example of this-Chicka Chicka Boom Boom.
    But like I said, I would mostly just look through the books and make sure they're not too long and wordy for them.

4. ash_sk8s

ash_sk8s Companion

Oct 18, 2011

A couple of books that my kids LOVE are Bedtime At The Swamp and Go Away Big Green Monster.

5. SamIAm

SamIAm Companion

Oct 27, 2011

You can also change things up by telling a story using the flannel board, or even read them at snack.. that's what I do.

Here are suggestions:
    1. Going on a Bear Hunt - my favorite!
    2. Don't let the pigeon drive the bus. - Super interactive
    3. Brown bear, brown bear What do you see - Good for flannel board
    4. Where the wild things are - classic
    5. Hand, Hand, fingers, Thumb - Have the kids drum or clap with it
    6. Click, Clack, Moo. Cows that type - So funny
    7. Five little monkeys jumping on the bed
    8. Pajama Time - I sing it

6. Maxadoodle

Maxadoodle Comrade

Oct 28, 2011