help with adhd bipolar student

Discussion in 'Behavior Management' started by minnie, Sep 15, 2007.

1. minnie

minnie Habitué

Sep 15, 2007

I really need some advice. I am a first year K teacher who has a student who has never had preschool or any socialization with other kids until now. He has severe ADHD (running in and out of the classroom, crawling on top and under tables, gets histerical when he cannot do something he wants to do) and bipolar disorder. He is EXTREMELY low and the principal has decided he will be on a two year plan with me. This year is only a year for him to socialize and absorb as much as he can for next year.
    I am having major problems coming up with an effective behavior plan with him. He has a full time aide which I am very thankful for. But no matter what we have him do, he throws a fit and refuses to do what we ask. He runs away from me and the aide and its useless to chase him. He doesn't respond very much to positive reinforcement. The only thing he will do anything for is food. THe medication he is on makes him extremely hungry, that is all he asks for all day. We give him snack breaks throughout the day, but right after he finishes, he wants to eat more. I have started rewarding him with fish cracker when he is doing what I ask, but two minutes after that he is back to his bahavior. I don't feel like its working. He cries and lays on the floor whenever he is asked to even write his name (he has assistance with that) or doing any kind of activity.
    I am sorry this is so long, but I have no experience with ADHD or bipolar. Any advice? :(

3. tchecse

tchecse Companion

Sep 16, 2007