HELP! what to do the first few minutes of school

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Ms_B, Aug 18, 2008.

1. Ms_B

Ms_B Rookie

Aug 18, 2008

This is my first year teaching (4th grade) and I am wondering what you do the very first day, the moment the students walk in door. I know you teach behaviors and procedures the first week, school tour, routines etc, but I am wondering how do you start those first few moments together? The moment they walk in do you start laying down the expected procedures? I am having a hard time figuring out a schedule for the first day and I really want to start out on the right foot so the school year runs smoothly. Any advice would be GREATLY appreciated. :help:

3. Hollie123

Hollie123 New Member

Aug 18, 2008

I am always nervous the first day of school and I am starting my 7th year. I put the school issued information packets on the desks along with a bookmark and pencil with an eraser cap. I greet them at the door as they walk down the hall and let them know they can choose a seat and put their bookbags and materials on the coat hooks. When everyone is seated, I introduce myself and tell them a little about me - how long I've been teaching, pets, what I like, what i don't like (keep it light and funny). I then have them introduce themselves and have them tell me one fun thing they did over summer, 1 thing they like and 1 thing they don't like. This will get everyone to relax a little before you start with the tours, rules and expectations.

4. LAH2

LAH2 Companion

Aug 18, 2008

When my students come in on the first day I have an activity on their desks for them to work on while everyone is still coming in and getting settled. After about 10 or 15 minutes I call them over to the rug and I introduce myself and then start talking to them about 2nd grade. Then we start discussing some of the rules and procedures of the class.

5. Vievers

Vievers Rookie

Aug 18, 2008