Help, what do I do in this situation?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by Elm512, Dec 9, 2008.

1. Elm512

Elm512 Companion

Dec 9, 2008

I am in my last year of school for Elementary Education, I'll be student teaching in Sept. 09. I REALLY need a job right now. There are several openings in my district as well as those surrounding for various things I would qualify for such as teacher's assistant, etc. My question is, I have practically NO work experience in the last 5 years. I have been staying home with my son who is now in Kindergarten. What do stay at home moms write in this situation? I feel like I am constantly being passed over for positions because not only was my last full time position 5 years ago, it was WAITRESSING! Ahh... Any advice would be soo appreciated.

3. emmakate218

emmakate218 Connoisseur

Dec 9, 2008

Well, a resume wouldn't be the appropriate place to "explain" the five years you've not been working, a cover letter would be. I don't think you need to explain the five years of not working though because you're just starting your career in education. If you had been a teacher five years ago, then an explanation would help. You need to go at it from the angle that you're starting your career in education and you're seeking a job that will allow you to put the methods you've been learning throughout your education prep. program into practice.

4. Elm512

Elm512 Companion

Dec 9, 2008

Thanks for the response. I guess the hardest part for me is when they ask for "outstanding references from prior employees" etc.. I am young, 5 years ago I was nineteen and a waitress. Every single job I'm looking at has 3 references from prior employers required. I am stumped. I have never in my life had a job substantial or long enough that they would even remember who the heck I was after all of this time.

5. emmakate218

emmakate218 Connoisseur

Dec 9, 2008