Help!, Weird History question

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by yarnwoman, Feb 2, 2009.

1. yarnwoman

yarnwoman Cohort

Feb 2, 2009

O.K., I am new to 8th grade this year. I have a Prentice Hall book titled The History of the United States. I am beginning a unit on the Frontier. The books test for this section has the following question:

Thinking Critically: Which of the following is not an example of sample reasoning? Write your answer on a seperate sheet of paper and support your answer with a paragraph explaining why you chose it.
    a. William Larimer was born adn raised in Pennsylvania.
    b. Very few miners got rich in the Cherry Creek gold rush.
    c. The mining towns were wild, but they were not without law.
    d. To survive and raise a family on the Great Plains, a woman had to be many things.

So how do you answer a question like this?????
    Thanks for your help.

3. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Feb 2, 2009

You're probably thinking that this question has to be about the frontier. It doesn't, and I'm pretty sure it isn't: this is about getting kids to think about how the study of history works.

So think about what the word sample means. In terms of history, how could sample make sense? Does it make sense to talk about a sample that consists of one? Now look at the possible answers. You should find - since this is a "not" question - that three of the answers fit some feature of the meaning of sample and one doesn't.

That's a fairly useful way to approach questions of this kind.

4. yarnwoman

yarnwoman Cohort

Feb 2, 2009

TeacherGroupie,
    Thank you, That helps a lot!!! You are a lifesaver!

5. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Feb 2, 2009

My pleasure, yarnwoman.

6. Brendan

Brendan Fanatic

Feb 2, 2009

Another reason I wouldn't ever use a book test...

7. Bored of Ed

Bored of Ed Enthusiast

Feb 3, 2009