HELP! Terrible Middle School Experience!

Discussion in 'Substitute Teachers' started by Oregon Sub Girl, Jan 19, 2011.

1. Oregon Sub Girl

Oregon Sub Girl Rookie

Jan 19, 2011

Let me give you some background before I share my story and ask for advice.

So, I've subbed at this school before. I've actually be subbing for 4 years, pretty consistently. I work a lot, but would really like to get better at subbing. I consider myself an excellent elementary school sub, those days run smoothly and I enjoy them. I know how to get their attention and how to keep it. My degree is in elementary so there are no problems there. However, in order to work enough to pay the bills, I accept Middle and High School jobs when they come along. I normally don't have problems with the high school students because they mind their own business. This particular middle school is in a lower-income area, but it's not crazy low. The administration seems competent and the other teachers are friendly.

Today, I taught 4 classes of math, 2 classes of 8th graders, and 2 classes of 7th graders. The 8th grade classes went okay, but both the 7th grade classes bombed. The plans were to do a warm-up (problems that were on the overhead), then go over their homework from the night before and then assign new homework. They were supposed to have about 20 minutes to work on this homework.

There wasn't one or two specific students that were causing problems, just general disruption. It took me a long time to get them all settled down (tips for starting class would be helpful), then students would call things out while I was giving instructions. There was general talking while I'm giving the instructions. A lot of attention-seeking behaviors. I tried pausing and waiting for them to quiet down. I tried asking specific kids to be quiet, etc. I finished explaining the assignment and turned them loose to finish the work.