help teaching blending

Discussion in 'First Grade' started by chrissy, Oct 4, 2007.

1. chrissy

chrissy Rookie

Oct 4, 2007

I plan on talking to the reading coach at my school, but I thought any other advice I could get would be great.

We just got our DIBELS results back. What can you do to help students who know what sounds the letters make, but can't seem to blend those sounds to make a word?

Practice? Repetition? Is there anything else you have tried and been successful with?

This is my first year teaching so I obviously don't have previous experience with this.

3. cdorey13

cdorey13 Rookie

Oct 5, 2007

I taught 1st last year and we also had DIBELS! I loved it! Anyways, we always told the kids to "keep their motors running" so they cannot isolate the sounds. I always told them they couldn't do "computer talk" we-are-at-home or c-a-t that instead we had to keep our motors running and some kids I made them put their hands on their throats to feel their motor going. Start slow just blending two letters... ca, bi, le, exc. then jump to three, do the nonsense word pages that come with DIBELS because when they are not real words then the kids are forced to sound them out and blend and not guess a real word. I just tell them ahead of time that they are not real words because I don't like them to get confused! Hope that helps!

4. SaraFirst

SaraFirst Cohort

Oct 6, 2007

Write a few nonsense words on board/easel. Model how to say the sounds and blend them to read the word. Have students do a few with you. Write some more words have students read them on their own. It might be a little early in the year for this, but have students make up their own nonsense words. This helps them to understand the activity better. They need to realize that each word has a short vowel sound. We progress monitor our low students each week and we usually see improvements.

5. ZoeMaui

ZoeMaui New Member

Oct 12, 2007