HELP SOCIAL STUDIES LESSON :help:

Discussion in 'First Grade' started by 1gdteach, Mar 1, 2008.

1. 1gdteach

1gdteach Companion

Mar 1, 2008

Hi I am a Student teacher and I have to teach a lesson on SS and the topic is weather. It is for 1st grade can anyone give me some insight on how to develop a lesson plan for 1st grade weather that is a social studies lesson. Any ideas on where I can find some fun and interesting lesson to get started from... Any help with this is appreciated.

Tiff

3. Miss Kirby

Miss Kirby Fanatic

Mar 1, 2008

I think things like seasonal changes are in the social studies standards. But it's also science too!

4. ranger1stgrd

ranger1stgrd Companion

Mar 5, 2008

I know in Missouri one of our standards is the compass rose and reading a map. You might be able to talk about the different types of weather in the North, South and etc.

5. funeoz

funeoz Comrade

Mar 5, 2008

how weather affects behavior. how we do different activities and dress differently based on the weather.

6. 1gdteach

1gdteach Companion

Mar 7, 2008

Do you have any lesson ideas for this. I have searched, but everything seems to be for higher grades... Thanks for the idea:hugs:

7. RainStorm

RainStorm Phenom

Mar 7, 2008

Wow. I can't imagine weather being included as a part of social studies. We teach weather as a part of science.

I guess it must be different some places, but I've never heard of weather as a social studies topic.

8. 1gdteach

1gdteach Companion

Mar 7, 2008

I didn't think that it was part of Social Studies either, but in my CT SS book the Unit is called Our Earth Our Resources and the Lesson 1 of that unit is Different Kinds of Weather. That is why I am so confused

9. 1gdteach

1gdteach Companion

Mar 7, 2008

PS. I guess it's more like Climate and how it affects the way we live. If anyone knows what I am talking about please help!!! I am at the end of my rope.

10. Carebear05

Carebear05 Comrade

Mar 8, 2008