Help Please!!

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by Starista, Mar 26, 2006.

1. Starista

Starista Cohort

Mar 26, 2006

Hello! :)

First of all I want to say I am so happy to find this forums!! I am a 5th year teacher in the Ft. Lauderdale area and teach 1st grade.

I teach in a Catholic school and have 28 children!! I have one very special boy in my class who has been diagnosed with an auditory process disorder. This child never sits in his seat (and I mean NEVER), can usually be found wandering the classroom during whole-group and small group activities, sings loudly during both story time and seat work time, often rolls around on the floor when it is inappropriate, etc.

His reading is well below par and he can not complete a seat work activity without one-on-one assistance from my aide.

I have reported this to the principal/counselor since October and it was not until February that it was suggested that he get a whole battery of psychoeducational testing.

What I NEED is some strategies to cope. It is VERY frustrating to be trying to teach a lesson and have a child burst into song during the middle of it.

When I met with his father (who is quite intimidating) he said "My son says you hate him. Why is this?" I was so embarassed/upset. I have rearranged the whole classroom seating around this one child, made lesson plans to cater to this one child, etc. Basically I replied by telling him that I am constantly redirecting his son. :-(

HELP!!!!!!!!

:love: , Star

3. hescollin

hescollin Fanatic

Mar 26, 2006

Welcome to Ato Z. I'm sure you will get lots of ideas and we look forward to gaining ideas from you. We have one guy who they found a chair with arms on it for him and it has helped him stay in his seat. Our boy isn't as bad as yours.

Sorry the dad made you feel bad. You sound so caring. He is lucky to have you as his teacher. He does need help.

4. Upsadaisy

Upsadaisy Moderator

Mar 26, 2006