Help please! Problems with my 7th hour

Discussion in 'General Education' started by futureteach24, Sep 1, 2013.

1. futureteach24

futureteach24 Companion

Sep 1, 2013

I teach mostly 10th grade students. I teach the "lower" track class. My 7th hour is headed no where fast. I was sick on Fri and they were the only class that got a bad sub report which said only a few listened and most simply ignored the sub. This is just the straw for me. I've tried several things with them and they aren't turning the situation around. This is the beginning of my 2nd year and I was placed on an action plan for class management last year. I can't afford a misstep at this point and don't really have any intentions on reliving the misery that was my life last year. I'm a science teacher and was thinking of making them do worksheets next week while my other classes do the labs planned. (The worksheets also include those that apparently they refused to work on when my sub was there.) I also plan on grading them per page if they do it and by question if they don't. My dept. is standards based. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

3. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Sep 1, 2013

What do you think the problem is?

How are these kids for other teachers? Are there one or two leaders you can identify?

I know they were bad for the sub, but that's hard to work with, so let's concentrate on how they are for you. When you say it's the last straw, what do you mean? What specific behaviors are they exhibiting that are unacceptable?

4. futureteach24

futureteach24 Companion

Sep 1, 2013

They're better for me. I at least get them to do the work.

Behaviors with me:
    off-task
    need constant redirects and reminders
    talking
    socializing
    disrespectful to me and to each other...had to send student to the office on Thurs. for telling another child to "shut the f-ck up"
    they whine and complain
    etc.

5. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Sep 1, 2013