HELP!!! Overwhelmed first year teacher!

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by meldmitch, Dec 29, 2009.

1. meldmitch

meldmitch New Member

Dec 29, 2009

I am a brand new teacher in a very small rural school, teaching junior and senior high math and science. I love the fact that my class sizes are small, but have been completely overwhelmed by the amount of prep needed for seven unique classes per day. We have completely overhauled science this year, so I am basically starting from scratch with no previous unit plans to follow. I teach 7 out of 8periods per day, and each class is completely different.

So, my question goes out to those who teach in schools that are medium to large in size (but would love to hear from anyone):
    1. How many "different" subjects do you teach every day?
    2. How does this reflect the amount of time you spend preparing lesson plans?
    3. Does the repetition of teaching the same subject multiple times a day present its own unique challenges?

I'd appreciate any comments or insight! Thanks in advance for helping out a "newbie"!

3. mmswm

mmswm Moderator

Dec 29, 2009

WOW!!! 7 preps is a LOT of work. You have my sympathies. The first year of teaching is hard to begin with, but to have to teach so many different preps with no old lessons to fall back on, that's tough. Is there anybody in your school who can help you? Maybe somebody who has taught one of your preps in the past (the math ones, anyway) can give you some old lessons that you can work with.

Failing that, search the internet for canned lessons that you can alter to suit your needs. I normally don't advocate for those types of lessons, but desperate times call for desperate measures. Canned lessons don't usually meet your exact needs, but they can provide a good starting point and help reduce the amount of work you need to do.

Also, the community here is really supportive. Don't hesitate to ask for help. Good luck with the rest of the year. :)