Help! Out of control class!

Discussion in 'New Teachers' started by robinsky, Sep 29, 2008.

1. robinsky

robinsky Rookie

Sep 29, 2008

I'm a new 7th grade teacher, and one of my classes is out of control. The kids talk over me, make jokes and laugh, get out of their seats, etc. I started writing their names on the board, and that quiets them down some, but there are so many talking it is hard to keep up. There are 34 kids in the class, and it is a small room, so they are right next to each other. My other 4 classes are fine (though they are not quite as big), but this one is driving me nuts!

I looked at some of the Power Teaching websites, but it seems overwhelming, especially starting it now, a month into the semester. What advice to people have for me?

3. missk83

missk83 Companion

Sep 29, 2008

I had sort of the same thing in my 3rd grade class. My mentor gave me the website behavioradvisor.com
    A lot of the stuff on there seems really simple, and I thought I was doing a lot of it already (positive reinforcement etc), but using certain words like I and we instead of you made a huge difference in my classroom.
    Its techniques are similar to power teaching.
    Also, the website suggests writing names of students who ARE on task on the board, something else I tried that works really well. They like the recognition.
    I would check it out. Try the techniques suggested, even if they seem over simple and silly.
    Good Luck :)

4. Canadian Gal

Canadian Gal Habitué

Sep 29, 2008

I would try a signal, like switching off the lights. Or Give me Five.

5. Mrs. K.

Mrs. K. Enthusiast

Sep 29, 2008