HELP!! No discipline allowed!

Discussion in 'Behavior Management' started by leannwade, Aug 16, 2007.

1. leannwade

leannwade Rookie

Aug 16, 2007

I am a first year teacher, and I am teaching pre-k. The first few days were great, but this week the children have not been cooperative. On the carpet, they rarely want to listen and usually talk through anything I am saying. They do not want to clean up during playtime, etc..Unfortunately, discipline is a touchy situation. We are not allowed to put them in time-out, remove them from the classroom, use a color system, no kind of 'discipline procedure' whatsoever! There are no rewards either...no stickers, candy, parties...nothing! Can you help? I came home and cried today, and I don't want the rest of my year to be like this. I even had to fill out 2 accident reports!!

3. apple25

apple25 Comrade

Aug 16, 2007

Why are you not allowed a time-out spot? That seems strange to me . . . that's the first thing that Supernanny would say!!

I would suggest talking to the administration and explaining the behaviours. Maybe you could do a sneaky timeout, and have the misbehaving child shadow you?? Good luck - I can't imagine teaching in that kind out situation!

4. TulipsGirl

TulipsGirl Cohort

Aug 16, 2007

Goodness!!! How long does a school with no discipline last? :eek: This makes for a very difficult situation!!

The first thing you need to ask yourself is: Do I have other procedures in place? Have I modeled modeled , modeled? have we practiced, practiced practiced them? Every day?

Ex:
    *signals for when you need their attention.
    *A cleanup song: Make it a race to see how early into the song they can finish. Maybe the class can choose from a few songs on a cd?
    *What we look like and sound like when others are speaking etc.

Basically what I'm saying is, are you positive that the children know and have really PRACTICED your expectations?