Help needed w/ grading... too many papers!

Discussion in 'High School' started by gr8_life, Nov 14, 2008.

1. gr8_life

gr8_life Companion

Nov 14, 2008

I'm new at teaching HS and need a way to streamline the grading system. HELP! :woot:

How to make kids accountable w/out grading everything?

Do you just grade tests?

I'm swimming in papers and need to find a better way fast, this is taking up waaaaay too much time. We also have strict rules and TA's can't input grades on our computer system AND I'm not using my TA's as much as I should be.

3. Mrs. K.

Mrs. K. Enthusiast

Nov 15, 2008

I wrote a very detailed reply, then managed to delete it - I'm up too late! Here's the Cliff's Notes version:
    1. HW and class work are done in a composition notebook. Stamp homework daily. Collect notebooks 2-3 times a semester and give an overall grade. Short assignments included in the notebook can be given individual grades.
    2. TAs grade the multiple choice part of tests and give them back to you in alpha order. You grade the "short essay" part.
    3. Essays take more time, but if you use some of the methods from Kelly Gallagher's Teaching Adolescent Writers, you'll have an easier time and get better writing from your kids. I also recommend Carol Jago's Papers, Papers, Papers.
    4. TAs can alphabetize, mark the m/c parts of tests, cut and glue stuff, etc. I only have one; if she's out or I need more help, I "borrow" a TA from a colleague another period.

It takes time to find the right balance. You don't say what you teach, but if it's English, feel free to PM me. :)

4. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Nov 15, 2008

We don't have TA's, and our classes are LARGE. Here's what I do: