HELP! Need new ideas for Language Arts reading time

Discussion in 'First Grade' started by WonderW05, Oct 3, 2007.

1. WonderW05

WonderW05 Comrade

Oct 3, 2007

Okay, I am having a hard time with my kids. First of all let me give you some background of my class. I have 11 ELL in a class of 19 students. They are CELT levels 1 and 2 only one of them is a 3. not to mention I am a first year teacher.
    Okay here is my delimma [sp]:
    We are using the Houghton Mifflin anthology books to read every Wednesday and Thursday. I read the big book on Monday to start off. I originally have my class at their tables (they don't have individual desks) while reading. Many of them are very low meaning many of them do not know their sounds/letters. I have about 4 kids who can read pretty well. During reading time I have been doing an echo read. The kids are a very demanding group and I felt like I had a hold of management until I started noticing kids were playing with their books,(turning pages, playing with pencils and not pointing to the words). When we go to talk about the story they cannot tell me even on the surface questions. I was told that I could move them to the carpet and then have them echo read,. This would give them a less of a chance of playing and paying attention. I tried this today and had most of them following along except for two who continued to play. I am really at my witts end. I am frusterated and would like some suggestions on what do you do when you go over the stories in the book. I also have them do a summary at the end of the story, with pictures and one sentece for the beginning, middle, and end but again they even struggle to remember what happened at all!