HELP! Need Montessori Infant/Toddler info

Discussion in 'Montessori' started by montessori#1, Mar 23, 2007.

1. montessori#1

montessori#1 New Member

Mar 23, 2007

Hi. I was a traditional classroom teacher for about 2 and a half years, and have recently left teaching to stay at home after the birth of my son. I am planning to return to work when he gets in school. I didn't have the credential I needed for the state where I live, so I am going to have to go back and complete a teacher education program. When I started researching programs, I really loved the Montessori approach. I am planning to attend a Montessori teacher's college after I finish the program I am enrolled in now.

I like the montessori method so much, I want to try to do it at home with my 10 month old son. I am convinced I can do it even though the materials are expensive because I am very crafty and I think I can make them myself. The problem is that I am not sure of which materials to introduce and in what order and how to introduce and use each one. Is there a book or textbook that would outline what to include in a toddler curriculum. I really need help. Please help me find the tools to design a montessori program for my son.

I have done a lot of research and reading on my own, and I have a good understanding of montessori principles and class design. Also, money is kind of an issue because I don't have much of it. I am looking for an affordable book or program. I am looking for something that would be used in a real montessori classroom. If you can help me or give me advice about working with that age group, pleeeeeaaaasee write.

3. Yenna

Yenna Companion

Mar 24, 2007