Help! Need help with classroom theme.

Discussion in 'Early Childhood Education Archives' started by Curleighgirl, Jul 5, 2006.

1. Curleighgirl

Curleighgirl Rookie

Jul 5, 2006

This is my first year teaching and I have Kindergarten. I have been juggling whether or not to use the same theme throughout my classroom. Please tell me what you think! Should I use teddy bears/frogs/bees, etc.....throughout my classroom or is it ok to incorporate all of these. I wonder if I use just bears or just bees that the kids will get bored with it. My husband tells me that I am making this too hard but I just want everything to be great! This is my first year and I feel there will be a watchful eye over me. :) Please share any amazing ideas that you may have.
    Thanks.

3. jaszmyn

jaszmyn Comrade

Jul 5, 2006

OMG! You sound just like me this time last year. I was a first year teacher...kindergarten too, and all over the place. I kinda wanted to go with a room theme, but then I saw all the different things I likes. I had everything, from bee's, to frogs, underwater. llThe truth is....it made no difference to the children. as long as it's attractive they like it.

With the samll amount of experience I have under my belt I think this year I will go with the jungle theme "wild about...", but I still want to do a beach theme in my reading corner. (?) Tell your husband that this is only the beginning

4. ABall

ABall Fanatic

Jul 5, 2006

I think there are some threads with pictures of class rooms so that you can see how others used these thems. I think it would be cute to have all of them. It makes me think of a cartoon with a bear getting honey from a bee hive and a frog pond near by. But you know don't make it so hard on your self. If you are able to pick out decorations for a theme, maybe buying all one kind would be cheapest.

5. kimrandy1

kimrandy1 Enthusiast

Jul 5, 2006