Help! Need cover letter advice

Discussion in 'Job Hunting & Interviews' started by jam0033, Feb 24, 2006.

1. jam0033

jam0033 New Member

Feb 24, 2006

I am trying to get a job in the school systems and need help with a cover letter. I have been out of the "loop" for a few years to raise my kids and I am not sure what employers are looking for in a cover letter. Basically, I need examples to give me ideas of wording and such. Any advice would be great. :confused:

3. Beth2004

Beth2004 Maven

Feb 24, 2006

If you go to google and type in "teacher cover letters" you'll see plenty of examples.

4. jam0033

jam0033 New Member

Feb 24, 2006

Thanks, I did that too. I will keep searching.

5. Beth2004

Beth2004 Maven

Feb 24, 2006

Here is an example of my cover letter.

Dear ,

I am writing to express my interest in the third grade position that is posted in the Boston Globe.

I graduated from ******* College on May 21, 2005 with a Bachelor of Science degree in Elementary Education. My initial teaching license in elementary (1-6) was issued to me on July 26, 2005. I plan to begin taking graduate courses at ******* College this summer so that I will be able to receive my professional license within the next five years.

When I was sixteen I was given the opportunity to begin working for an after school program in *******. The program services children ages six through twelve and after working there for over six years, I gained quite a bit of valuable experience with school-age children. It was the children at this program that made me realize that I want to teach.

Since November 28, 2005 I have been a long-term substitute in a fourth grade classroom. I have known for quite some time that I want to teach, but these past few months have really made me realize that this is what I want to do with my life.