Help! My grade level chair is trying to destroy me :-( Advice?

Discussion in 'Teacher Time Out' started by Teacher_Lyn, Nov 16, 2009.

1. Teacher_Lyn

Teacher_Lyn Companion

Nov 16, 2009

This is my first year teaching 1st grade. My grade level chair, "Ms. H" is the only other teacher on my team. Her child is also in my class. :eek:

We were getting along relatively well, but I noticed sometimes she would do or say mean things to me (ie: i straigtening up papers in my room and she rolls her eyes and goes, "you're getting on my nerves! you're taking too long to pick those up! i oughta throw them in the trashcan. ha ha ha!) and play it off as "kidding".

Also, whenever I have a stack of papers in my room, she would take it upon herself to start thumbing through them. Sometimes she might find a worksheet she gave me to do for my class and if I hadn't done it, she would complain.

Plus, when I was reorganizing my room, she purposely kept coming in and out to see what I was doing.

Other times, she has come into my room and taken supplies. She'll be like, "Oh, you're not using these workbooks? Let me have like three" AS SHE IS TAKING THEM.

She also blames me whenever her daughter does something wrong in my classs OR if her daughter and another child have an issue, she blames the other kid. Her daughter is EXTREMELY sensitive and cries a lot and sometimes Ms. H will come into my room and interrupt my class to see what's going on.

Ms. H stopped talking to another teacher because her daughter was crying in my room and refused to leave the class (we were going on a bathroom break), and the other teacher came in and tried to support me by demanding the child come out the room and stop defying me as her teacher.

Ms. H's daughter STILL wouldn't come out (or tell us why she was crying. she just cries randomly), so the other teacher called an administrator on her. Ms. H got ANGRY and won't speak to that teacher anymore:eek: