Help! My current district won't release me from my contract!

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by VaguelyRomantic, Aug 11, 2017.

1. Aug 11, 2017

Hello all! Newbie here :)

I was offered an Instructional Coaching position at another district (which would be a significant promotion and pay raise!), but my current district won't release me from my contract until they find a replacement. By Texas law, they have the right to retain me, but the other district will only hold my position for 30 days.

Has anyone been successful at helping your district/school find a replacement? Should I go straight to my superintendent? My principal and the HR director say they're going to start looking, but I'm afraid that they aren't going to try too hard.

Any advice?

3. Mshope2012

Mshope2012 Companion

Aug 11, 2017

I just responded to another post on this. My district will hire a sub to cover until the newly hired teacher is free from their contract. This has happened a few times. Also, I know our district has held teachers to our contract when they are leaving the district.

The only teachers who left suddenly were ones who retired or never wanted to teach again. I think if you don't follow the policies you can have some trouble with your state certification in my state.

Will the district that made the offer wait for you? It can't hurt to ask.

4. MsMar

MsMar Fanatic

Aug 11, 2017