HELP! My cover letter sucks - can I get some help?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by gazing_iscariot, Jun 5, 2008.

1. gazing_iscariot

gazing_iscariot Rookie

Jun 5, 2008

I never wrote a cover letter before I wrote this one, and I don't think it's what it should be - if anyone doesn't mind, could I get some feedback please?

My name is Sarah and I would love the opportunity to interview in person for any openings at X School in English Language Arts. I have filled out an application for XYZ ISD and attached is my resume and Statement of Eligibility for employment.

I am a recent graduate of Texas Tech University and I am pursuing my teaching certification through ITeachTexas. My certification area is English Language Arts and Reading in grades 8-12. I have completed all coursework through ITeachTexas and I recently passed the TExES certification test on December 8th. I am now studying for my ESL certification test, and will be ESL certified before the upcoming school year. I am eligible to be hired at any time to begin my one year internship.
    I am currently employed by ABC ISD as a Teacher's Assistant in the Computer Lab, while also tutoring 3rd graders 90 minutes daily in preparation for retaking their TAKS test. Prior to that I have worked as a substitute teacher for XYU ISD.

I would love an opportunity to interview for X ISD, as I have heard many wonderful things about the district. If you have an 8-12 English Language Arts position available I would love to be considered.

Thank you for your consideration,

I know it's not what it should be, but I don't know what to do with it. :/

3. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Jun 5, 2008