Help Me!

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by MusicMaker, Apr 26, 2007.

1. MusicMaker

MusicMaker Rookie

Apr 26, 2007

My first graders are driving me nuts! I have had a couple of out of control children in my classroom this year and have had to struggle to maintain any sense of respect in my classroom. As a first year teacher, I've been trying to handle this as best as possible, but I'm feeling like such a failure. I haven't had any support from my mentor or school administration. It has been very deameaning and any confidence that I had has been torn down. I don't expect anyone to hold my hand, but as a first year teacher, you really need some guidance and mentoring, which I haven't received. When I do try to get help from another teacher friend of mine, they tell her to but out, which thankfully, she doesn't, which has kept me a little bit sane.

Anyway, one child was finally switched in December. I started reteaching rountines, etc, and everything seemed to be going much better, until we came back from spring break. Now, I know most kids are having difficultly focusing since they all have spring fever, but mine don't listen to me at all! I'm so frustrated, I'll try anything! Nothing keeps their attention, and the other child makes it impossible to get through a lesson. I end up having to call the office, which doesn't help, and he comes back with the same disrespectful behavior again and again.

It seems like anything right now would just be a "band-aid" and not really help much, but I'm desperate. I want to make the rest of the school year as best as I can for the students and myself.

I'm the type of person that works 12 hour days and still feels bad that I didn't get everything done. I just don't know what to do...

Does anyone have suggestions for center transition songs or games that we could play so I can hold their attention on the carpet when we are starting a lesson? I'd appreciate any advice.

3. nc4th

nc4th Rookie

Apr 26, 2007