Help me understand...

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by **Mrs.A**, May 16, 2010.

1. **Mrs.A**

**Mrs.A** Comrade

May 16, 2010

I like to read and as a new teacher I've been reading a lot of books on reading...I've read such books as Mosaic Of Thought (Not completely, but plan to finish it over the summer), Reading Essentials, Daily Five, Comprehension Connections and Reading Power.

It's the end of the year and I'm already thinking about next year and what I want to change in my classroom. I know I want to teach reading differently, but I'm required to use our basal (Harcourt Trophies). 80% of our reading instruction is supposed to come from the basal.

I'm confused about what the research says on reading...Harcourt is research based and we are supposed to be teaching the following skills:

author's purpose
    cause and effect
    compare/contrast
    draw conclusions
    elements of nonfiction
    fact and opinion
    follow written directions
    main idea and details
    make inferences
    paraphrase
    sequence
    summarize

We are supposed to do centers and guided reading with harcourt, which is somthing I struggle with.

Now, what I'm getting from the other books I have read, which are research based is kids learn to read by READING. The skills that should be taught are:

Teaching kids what metacognition is all about
    schema
    inferring
    questioning
    determing Importance
    visualizing
    synthesizing

It seems doing reader's workshop is the way to go, so you can have time to sit and confer with your students. Have them reading books that are at their level.