Help me to prep for 3 classes in fall!

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by wldywall, Jul 6, 2007.

1. wldywall

wldywall Connoisseur

Jul 6, 2007

Well I am going from a 9th grade US history position to one in the middle school, teaching 6th and 7th grade social stuides and 8th grade US History. I have my stuff to plan for next year, but I have yet to do anything about it. To top it off there are 4 textbooks for each 6 and 7th grades.....they are small....but man that is a lot of material for me to become familar with. I am at a loss as to how to prepare (this will be my first year teaching a class from the first day...last time I jumped into the middle of the year, no materials but it was only one prep)
    Do I read all the textbooks?
    Do I just go over them a little?
    I am expected to make the classes about 45% reading classes, so I am at a loss as to how to do that, I am a SS teacher not a reading teacher! All of the materials that come with the 6/7th grade texts are dull boring quizes, KWL charts, and other reading things.....no interesting extension activities nothing. IF it wasn't for the extras that came with the last textbook I wouldn't have gotten through last year. It was my jumping off point. I don't have that here. I am so lost and running out of time.

Some one help me!

3. Brendan

Brendan Fanatic

Jul 6, 2007