Help Making Decisions...

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Sam Pasterano, Jul 25, 2019.

1. Sam Pasterano

Sam Pasterano New Member

Jul 25, 2019

in 2014, I graduated with a certification to teach PK-4 and just recently tested up to 5-6. I worked as a day to day sub for several years and then two years ago I landed a "permanent substitute" position at the district of my dreams. This means that I have been keeping a spot warm for contracted employees that get 3 years off (unpaid) per child they have. People have 3+ kids and take 9+ years off. I have my own self-contained classroom and all the duties that come along with it.

For the past two years, they have treated me as a warm body filling a classroom while they hire from the outside for full-time contracts. They make me go through the whole interview process every time they have an opening. I have done 5 rounds of interviews at the district I work for. In my position, I do very well. The parents, students, and my co-workers love me, I get great test scores, and I am an active contributor to the school (after school clubs, informal training for the teachers, etc.) They will not hire me. If they hire someone from within (another sub), it is obvious that they knew someone.

At the end of this last school year, the principal "let me go" and told me it wasn't anything I did, I just wasn't as good as the competition to make it to the final round of interviews. I packed up my room, hugged my co-workers, and cried for a week. I picked myself up and made plans to continue applying everywhere within 2 hours of me and applied for a master's program. Two weeks later, they called me and asked me to return to my same 3rd-grade spot for another year (something the secretary told me the principal had planned since before school ended). I accepted because, at the time, I had nothing lined up and need the money. I am married and have three small kids.