Help! Major Subtest II/Math Anxiety Attack!

Discussion in 'Multiple Subject Tests' started by Mllezoe, Jun 3, 2006.

1. Mllezoe

Mllezoe Rookie

Jun 3, 2006

Hi all,
    Ok, I've got to be honest here, it's 1:15am and I'm seriously having the worst panic attack EVER about Subtest II. Here's the deal...I took Subtests I and III in March and passed both tests on the first try. I studied like a demon for two months before the tests. They were easier than I thought. I've been on these boards before...I used to teach college; I have an M.A. in art history. That being said, I am one of those people who cannot do math; seriously, I think there is something wrong with the part of my brain that works with numbers. My last algebra and geometry classes were 24 years ago. I had to have tutors just to get C's in them. I am looking at the practice questions in all my CSET prep books; I've even been studying the Idiot books and I am beyond an idiot because I can't grasp this stuff.

Can someone who's taken Subtest II give me a general idea of what to expect on the exam? I read some posts on this board but I'm still confused. One person said to know Pre-calculus and trig stuff - well, I'm dead then - I can barely understand algebra at this point. The CSET practice test didn't LOOK that bad; but what's the actual test like? Should I get a tutor? I've signed up for the July test and will take it, but am not optimistic about passing it. I'll take it again in September.
    I am waiting to hear if I've been accepted to the credential program at CSUN for Fall '06 under 'exceptional' admission - just because I haven't taken this one test.

Honestly, I feel like throwing up! I know I'm thinking irrationally right now; but I feel like my whole desire to be a kindergarten (that's right - kindergarten!) teacher is going to go down the drain because of one test.
    ANY HELP would be greatly appreciated. I am so sorry for the length of this post.
    Thanks in advance.

3. Malcolm