HELP-is it bad if i dont do small group reading?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by ShanaNicole, Aug 15, 2011.

1. ShanaNicole

ShanaNicole Rookie

Aug 15, 2011

I'm trying to figure out my day and I just can't figure this out. I have an am and a pm class so I only have my students for half a day, I have to teach everything that normally takes a full day in that time. I don't have leveled readers or any leveling assessments BC a work at a private school with little money, its a non-profit religious school. It doesn't say in my contract that I must teach small group but coming from a public school background, I feel like I'm a bad teacher if I don't do small groups. Advice, please!

3. EdEd

EdEd Aficionado

Aug 15, 2011

Hey - so I'm remembering you also posted about starting small reading groups a few days ago, if I remember right? Anyway, from my experience, yes - it would be a mistake. Especially with 1st graders, most other components of reading instruction would be less important than guided reading groups. It definitely is unfortunate that your school can't provide more resources, though - I mentioned a few free/low cost resources in my response to your thread about how to create guided reading groups, I think.

Unfortunately, sometimes educators aren't given the tools they need, but I think that's one reason why I respect teachers so much - they often do so much with so little.

4. SCTeachInTX

SCTeachInTX Fanatic

Aug 15, 2011

Yes. It is just that important. You can do guided reading with basal texts if you have to. You need to figure this out and you will. You know it is that important or you would not be asking...

Two words... Donor's Choose. Write a grant. I have had two funded. Good luck!

5. WaterfallLady

WaterfallLady Enthusiast

Aug 15, 2011

She teaches at a private school. Private schools can't use Donor's Choose, at least from what I've heard.

6. MrsC

MrsC Multitudinous

Aug 15, 2011