Help in math

Discussion in 'Fourth Grade' started by Mr. Math Teache, Oct 29, 2007.

1. Mr. Math Teache

Mr. Math Teache New Member

Oct 29, 2007

This is my first year of teaching and they told me that next year they are going to departmentalize us. I will be teaching math all day! This is ok with me, until i started to think about all the papers there will be to grade. Does anyone have any suggestions on how to survive this

3. iheart5thgrade

iheart5thgrade Comrade

Oct 29, 2007

This is my second year of teaching, my first in departmentalized math and I L-O-V-E it. If you enjoy math, you won't wanna go back to not having it all day....

To help with the grading papers crisis, I get students to keep all their homework from the week until Friday. On Friday, I take up the Homework Packet and that's worth one 100 point grade. That really keeps from me grading way too much and the kids seem to enjoy just turning in homework once a week.

4. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Oct 29, 2007

I would try color coding each class period. Where they turn in their work, folders where you keep their work, color coded in your gradebook.

5. MrsC

MrsC Multitudinous

Oct 29, 2007

Don't grade every single question that they do. Choose a couple of representative questions from each homework assignment and grade only those.

6. MissFroggy

MissFroggy Aficionado

Oct 29, 2007

I don't departmentalize, but this is something I have done that I found helpful this year.

Each child has a math folder (pockets and prongs) that stays in the classroom. One side is labeled IN PROGRESS. The other side is FACT PRACTICE for drills. In the hole punches, completed and checked work...