Help - I'm ready to resign

Discussion in 'Secondary Education Archives' started by CAteacher, Oct 5, 2005.

1. CAteacher

CAteacher New Member

Oct 5, 2005

I am a first year teacher - middle school - and I am just miserable in my job. I have no idea what I got myself into. Many days I have wanted to walk in and quit. I am afraid of legal action due to my contract. I am unfamiliar with the whole process here in California. Anyone out there that can fill me in on my rights to be able to resign and what acceptable reasons would allow a resignation???

3. Grammy Teacher

Grammy Teacher Virtuoso

Oct 5, 2005

I really feel sorry for you! What is the problem with your job? I'm sorry I don't know the legal aspects to getting out of a contract. Others will surely know though.

4. mshutchinson

mshutchinson Comrade

Oct 11, 2005

Maybe if you post all your issues here, we can help you find out how to make it less...horrible for you and the kids)

5. Mrs.Bick

Mrs.Bick New Member

Oct 13, 2005

Don't throw in the towel today. Many of us who teach middle school went home crying daily for the first three (Seven!) months. Our kids in the middle are a unique species, as are the people who work with them. "Just teaching" is really so many different jobs wrapped into one. It is hard and frustrating but also so fun and rewarding.(On my 21st year!)
    I agree with the others- post your issues and concerns we've seen and experienced a lot ad the support of others will really help you work into your career choice. See if your school has a mentor program. I agree with the others- post your issues and concerns we've seen and experienced a lot ad the support of others will really help you work into your career choice.
    Look for a substitute, take a mental health day and re-group before you make your decisions.
    I hope you feel better good luck.

6. Oct 19, 2005