Help!! I'm overwhelmed!

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Andrea281, Jun 17, 2011.

1. Andrea281

Andrea281 New Member

Jun 17, 2011

Hi everyone!
    I have been a pre-k teacher for 10 years. I just found out that I will be teaching 3rd grade next year and am in a panic! I have never taught the elementary grades.
    How big of an adjustment will this be? I don't even know where to begin! Thank you for your advice.

3. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Jun 17, 2011

Welcome!

I have no concrete advice to offer; the youngest I've ever taught is 7th grade.

But you have 10 years of experience. You're a GOOD teacher. You simply have to learn a new prep, and you have two whole months to do so.

So go grab a cup of coffee, take a look at your textbooks, and give the elementary people here a chance to wake up. You'll do fine.

I've got to get my kids up for school :)

4. BioAngel

BioAngel Science Teacher - Grades 3-6

Jun 17, 2011

You will learn a lot about teaching 3rd grade during the first year that you do it. This past school year was the first time I taught 3rd grade and I loved it. Before that I only taught 5th grade.

Since you taught younger kids, you'll want to familiarize yourself with what exactly 3rd graders are capable of doing.

This site might help you to be understanding what they might be learning-- http://www.internet4classrooms.com/skills_3rd_original.htm Also check out your state's standards.

The curriculum and skills will be different, but kids are kids :)

5. queenie

queenie Groupie

Jun 17, 2011

I have never taught PreK or third grade, but I can offer the perspective of a second grade teacher so you'll know what to expect when they first come to you :)