Help... I'm drowning in a sea of books!!

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Green_eyed_gal, May 31, 2008.

1. Green_eyed_gal

Green_eyed_gal Comrade

May 31, 2008

I'm a new teacher and will be teaching fourth grade this coming year.. I have a ton of stuff to do and read and I don't know where to start. I need help prioritizing what I should be doing. I'm hoping the experienced teachers can help me.

This is what is on my to do list:

Read:
    The First Days of School (Over half way done)
    Teaching with Love and Logic (second reading)
    Tools for Teaching (second reading)
    6 + 1 Traits of Writing
    Four Square Writing Method
    Tribes
    Guiding Readers & Writers
    Practice with Purpose
    Guided Comprehension in Action
    Dealing with Difficult Parents (half way through the book)
    Positive Discipline in the Classroom

Plan:
    First Week of school
    Reading
    Writing
    Math
    Social Studies
    Science
    Literacy Centers
    Writer's Workshop
    Reader's Workshop

Misc classroom stuff:
    Classroom website (I've started this and work on it a little at a time)
    Classroom newsletter
    Settle on discipline plan (I have an idea...Just need to put into writing)
    figure out how to organize classroom library
    Homework spreadsheet
    Welcome letter to parents
    Meet the teacher activities & handouts
    Homework policy & incentives
    Figure out classroom jobs
    Writing process poster to track student writing

I know there is more I left out...I'm adding to my list daily.

Where do I start??? :help: I find myself doing a little of everything instead of sitting down and finishing one project. I think I'm overwhelming myself.

School starts July 28th, teachers have to be back on July 22nd, I can't work on my room until July 15th because of construction, I have a week of new teacher classes in June and a week of SEI classes.